Posted on

When Did Girls Start Wearing Pink?

When Did Girls Start Wearing Pink?

10 responses to “When Did Girls Start Wearing Pink?

  1. I really don’t like the fact that genders are differentiated through colors already since birth. I find it pathetic. People should be free to choose which ever color they like. However as babies it is the responsibility of the parents to choose for their children and sadly society’s influence on everyone is huge. When I look at pink and blue being gender differentiating I am a bit disappointed however i do like to wear pink and I consider it my favorite color. I like to believe that I like it as a color but not because I am a girl. I don’t know if it is true or it wouldn’t have been the case if I weren’t a girl. who knows. But for all I know I am sure I am somehow influenced by the society. However I wouldn’t ever judge girls who don’t like pink or boys who like it. At the end of the day it’s a matter of choice and preference.

  2. Very interesting article, i always find this topic of pink vs blue very attractive, because i cant find an answer to it. I once wrote an anthropology paper about the cultural meanings of colours, and i concluded that some colours don’t have a cultural significants, while other colours are really related to thoughts, feelings and values. For example, in Egypt white is associated with happiness and weddings, while in China Red is linked with weddings and joy. Classical conditioning in this subject is very relevant: colour and meaning.
    Pink and blue are also associated with gender. And surprisingly, this association exits across culture. I believe a huge role in creating this division is the social role. Parents are preparing their children to the future role. Pink is not just a colour, according to the society pink is cute and feminine just like how girls should be: nice, quiet and cute. Unlike blue which is more bold, again just like boys should be.
    Personally, i don’t really like pink that much. I am ok with it. Yet my favourite colour is Green which is not really associated by gender, and this what makes me love it more!
    A funny story that happened recently regarding pink and blue. My neighbour was pregnant and according to the X-ray she is having a girl, then she went by all the pink stuff for the new baby, and when she gave birth, they discovered that they had a boy!! So, she went through a lot of troubles trying to replace pink with blue! 😀

  3. hanahafiz

    Before I was born my parents bought all these clothes for me without finding out what the sex was, it didn’t matter whether I was a boy or girl. But nowadays people have to know what their baby’s going to be in order to buy them clothes that will match their sex. I don’t know how it all changed!
    I really like pink as well, but I don’t think the colors that we wear should define us. Just because I wear pink doesn’t mean I’m a girly girl, and if I wear blue that doesn’t mean I’m a tomboy either.

  4. nohafarid

    Its very irritating how all societies all around the world see pink as a girly color and blue as a boyish color. I mean who the hell started all of this anyway? Like what was he/she thinking about when he/she saw these two colors? For me, its so stupid because this kind of stereotype is absolutely nonsense. Why would a color define me as a “cute tiny” girl or a “tomboy masculine” girl?! Its actually so funny and sad at the same time to see how people used and STILL think. As for me, pink is no way my color, I hate pink. Sometimes I even think that I hate it because of this nonsense stereotype the society has created.

  5. Yes, of course it raises a million questions on why we are separated since birth and who started this cross-cultural ritual. But, i have another opinion. Even though it creates gender dilemmas and separates us into “two teams” as the article stated, there is one part i found very interesting. What is wrong if a girl looks girly and still has the same rights. A girl could definitely wear a dress and be a girly surgeon, as explained. Our goal as women is not to look like men to get the same rights and equal treatment, right? We can look however we want but still get the equality. I dont think we have to imitate men to reach our goals here as women or feminists.

  6. marabm712

    It was really interesting to read this article! I didn’t know at all that pink was or boys and blue was for girls:

    “…a June 1918 article from the trade publication Earnshaw’s Infants’ Department said, “The generally accepted rule is pink for the boys, and blue for the girls. The reason is that pink, being a more decided and stronger color, is more suitable for the boy, while blue, which is more delicate and dainty, is prettier for the girl.” Other sources said blue was flattering for blonds, pink for brunettes; or blue was for blue-eyed babies, pink for brown-eyed babies, according to Paoletti.”

    And how this all changed when the women’s liberation movement came into being in the 1960! How the colors were switched because women were trying to be equal to men.
    I so much agree with the article that it was pure consumerism and marketing efforts that tried to make this distinction in children’s clothing, in order to sell more. At the very same time, when the new idea of gender-based clothing was adopted by some people, the circle started to become bigger and bigger, because of people wanting to conform to the new ‘norm’… Anybody who doesn’t conform to the norm are perceived to be ‘abnormal’ or ‘weird’ by the conforming crowd!!

  7. I agree with Norhen, in the end women want equality. It is a really interesting article, babies don’t have a say in what they wear as they are still not aware, the parents are the ones that pick in the end what the baby wears. I liked in the article the part where it said “what happened to neutral clothing”.. it is true, I think there are neutral
    clothes today, but not much.

  8. It’s a really interesting article. Especially the first part about how until the age 6 both girls and boys used to wear dresses. I remembered while reading the article the photo album of my father when he was a baby. When I saw him in a dress I kept laughing I was really young at the time I saw the photo album though. Now it makes me reflect on how much society actually affects us. I was only 6 at the time and I found it very strange for a baby boy to be wearing a dress, I thought girls are the only ones who are supposed to wear dresses!

  9. mariamr94

    i was really surprised that actually such colors (blue and pink) were reversed at one time in history, i wonder how did it feel like…If this article were to proof something or send a message, it would definitely say that gender differences are purely built socially. from what i understood from the article, i concluded that its a social trend that changes occasionally and most of the time the media, clothes companies, peer pressure and the fear of being refused in the society is what determines what should boys and girls should wear. for example here in Egypt if famous brands such as zara or mango started changing women trends into clothes that look less feminine people would actually still buy them not because they like them but because they are afraid they’d be resented by the society if they didn’t like them.

  10. sarazaky

    wow, I was always wandered how come pink colors became gender-specific but I thought it was a coincidence. I could have never thought that they would do that deliberately. I actually think that those gender related products and trends are mainly there because of business purposes, imagine if baby girls didn’t wear pink and blue for boys or that video games weren’t targeted for guys, the sales of these products would have never been the same. That’s why I think that we are all basically slaves to consumption, in all aspects of social life, it all comes down to money and profit. We work, buy, consume and die.

Leave a Reply

